How I became “The Crazy Track Lady”: Revisited from 2009

Posted: July 31, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hey all! I thought I would explain the origin of the title here, since I came by it honestly. (Or “crazily”, if you want to call it that).

About three years ago, I was deep in the throes of a fabulous workout routine I invented. I called it “aerobo-dogging”, which was basically a crazy-ass routine I would do while walking my dog. I’d put his leader on, put on some music and walk, dance, sing, jog and aerobicise my way to a thinner me. I looked like a complete fool, and even had a state trooper “pull me over” in mid-routine to ask if I was okay. (Humorous Side Bar: Due to the fact I was observed talking to a state trooper by my fellow neighbor, by the time my son came home that night, rumor had it I had been arrested and tested for drugs. Not true of course, but I imagine I did look like a meth addict in the throes of an OD…)

Well, the routine was a lot of fun, and very addictive. So, I expanded my routine to the middle school track down the street from my house. I would spend 45 minutes going around the track, doing all these herky-jerky movements to music only I could hear. I was wonderfully oblivious to the world around me.

Fast forward THREE YEARS. My good friends’ son just graduated from high school. At his graduation party, his mom (and one of my very good friends) leaned over to me, and out of the blue, said “I have to tell you something. I’ve been holding this in for three years now, and it’s time you know.” OH? “You have a reputation, you know. For the last three years, the high school band has been doing a little dance in your honor.” WHAT?“And some of these band members are coming over tonight with the sole desire to ‘meet the crazy track lady’”. Wow…

In a nutshell (pun intended), I have become a legend without knowing it. My routine was being observed by the local high school band, who was out on the track practicing their marching routines. Apparently, they liked what I was doing so much, they decided to add a small part of it into their 4th quarter routine. Only, nobody was comfortable enough to tell me this, because they were afraid I’d be offended or angry. At the Senior band member banquet, one of the ladies stood up and said, “And remember to dance like the Crazy Track Lady. Dance like  nobody’s watching.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself. But, I would have danced while saying it.

Got Something to Say? Say it Here!

